Kidney recipient glad to be back home

By Nancy Noble
Kidney recipient

It’s Monday afternoon and five days past the day of my kidney transplant. First, I want to say that the staff at Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak was outstanding! The nursing staff was incredible.

I went in for surgery last Wednesday earlier than predicted — at about 11:30 a.m. — and I believe I was done by 3:30 p.m. I had a hard time waking up, so they had to keep my breathing tube in, which was a little scary and unexpected. Wednesday night is a blur and most of Thursday, also. On Thursday, I did get to start eating and I was moved out of the Intensive Care Unit. I was able to see my donor, Michelle Rogers, for the first time since the transplant later that day. She looked incredible! She was walking around and looking as though she just come back from the spa, except she was in a hospital gown.

All my labs have come back great and my new kidney is working great. There are not many side effects from the medicine, really, just pain near the incision site. During my first visit this morning at the clinic, things went well.

Thanks for all the well wishes and the incredible support from all my friends and family.

3 thoughts on “Kidney recipient glad to be back home

Add yours

  1. As kidney transplant recipient I remember what your going through it has been over 20yrs for me my advice is follow all your doctor instructions everything will start getting better biggest thing is your energy will come back and even your taste buds will improve fell better ………Roy

  2. Glad to hear that you are doing so great and thanks for sharing your journey, I actually feel like I know you do to your blog, take care and I will keep you and your family in my prayers 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

