Kidney donor getting out of the hospital today

By Michelle Rogers
Kidney donor

It has been a wonderful experience donating my kidney to Nancy Noble through Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak. We’ve had lots of attention with more than a dozen visitors, several floral bouquets, presents and even a TV news crew and songstress, but it’s time for me to move on.

UPDATE: Here’s a link to the story reporter Lauren Podell produced of us for WDIV Channel 4 in Detroit and here’s a link to Berkley High School student Jenna Apostle singing to us.

Lauren Podell (front right) and the videographer from WDIV pose with me and Nancy Noble in the hospital Friday after reporting our story.
Lauren Podell (front right) and the videographer from WDIV pose with me and Nancy Noble in the hospital Friday after reporting our story.

My doctor said I could be released today, just three days after the transplant took place. Everything went great. We were done early with surgery and I was up and walking about 10 hours after surgery. There has been no nausea and my pain has been under control. The only hurdle was passing gas, and I am happy to report that happened at 5 a.m.

So, I’ll finally get to order some delicious real food off Beaumont’s rather extensive and impressive menu before heading home for some rest and relaxation, or what I like to describe as my vacation. I should be back to work by the end of the month.

Tomorrow I’ll share a link to our interview with reporter Lauren Podell of WDIV Channel 4 and hopefully video of the high school student who sung for us. I am using my iPhone to make this post, so I wanted to make it short.

I want to thank everyone for their support. We’ve had a lot of feedback on Facebook. Nancy will be in the hospital another day or two for anyone who wants to wish her well. Hopefully, she will have an update soon.

I just wanted everyone to know that the surgery went well and I am breaking out of the hospital after just a brief stay.

And please consider either giving the gift of life soon through live donation or after you have passed through the donor registry.

2 thoughts on “Kidney donor getting out of the hospital today

Add yours

  1. God Bless You…….you are one of the chosen ones….. to save a life. You are very special. Nancy is very lucky to have you in her life. I can never repay my Angel Donor Nephew Paul and I bless him every day of my life. I’m glad you’re feeling so well just 3 days after….Hurrah for the great team at Beaumont…..my other Angels.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

