The vacuum still sings, a distraction from thoughts of surgery

By Mark Noble
Caregiver/husband

I don’t know how it is in your home, but promptly at 6:30 a.m., the vacuum is running. Granted, I’m still in bed, as our routines are very strange — at night I make sure my daughter is in bed (or try to) and in the morning Nancy makes sure she is up and ready for school, but I drive her there. So, as I am a late owl, I squeeze every ounce of the night out and follow-through to doing the same of my sleep in the morning. I roll out of bed at 7 or 7:10 a.m. and, in my pajamas, drive my daughter to school. No worries, I’m up and ready for work at 8 a.m. (I work out of the house.)

But, back to the 6:30 a.m. vacuum. It still sings. That’s Nancy pushing it along and supporting its song. She still finds time to squeak this into the morning. Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 7.19.09 PM I don’t know if it’s “busy work,” or what, although I do know that Nancy is a fanatic of not having pet hair around. I’m sure it’s a stress reliever. OK, well maybe.

And, yes, I could easily take this pleasure from her, giving her back those precious 15 minutes or so.

But, then again, I wouldn’t want to give her mind extra time to think because then she may really start thinking about everything that’s going on with the kidney transplant, and then she may start to scream.

I’d rather hear the vacuum sing than Nancy scream. So, for now, I won’t. But come April 1, I will.

One thought on “The vacuum still sings, a distraction from thoughts of surgery

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

